The entire movie is basically lead-up to that final act. If you had no idea what this movie was about you would swear that it was some sort of romantic comedy. It isn't until maybe 45 minutes in that the movie immediately switches gears and you let you know that shit ain't right. How do they let you know? A girl staring at a phone for hours on end, waiting for a phone call, and then a sack on the floor behind her all of a sudden comes to life and flies across the room. A pretty jarring moment for a movie that has been tame up until that point.
So from that point on the movie does a very good job at creating a sense of dread, or at least it would if I didn't know where everything was leading. I won't lie, knowing the ending of this movie really takes away a lot from it. Clearly you are supposed to have no idea where things are going and the movie does do a good job of throwing you off course. I just wish I could have experienced it the way it was meant to be.
The movie is very slow in the beginning, which of course was intentional. It's very dialogue heavy and purposely slow-paced. I did get bored. Even parts of the second half were quite dull, but I understand the point of making everything boring before really flying off and going bat shit crazy.
The last 15 minutes is just as fucked up as you may have heard. It's still not the worst thing I have seen in a movie. Hell it's not even the worst thing I have seen in a movie I've watched this year. But it's pretty bad and I can see why a lot of people were revolted by it.
I just really wish I didn't know the ending of this movie because that would have made the experience so much more visceral and effective. As is, it was a well-made movie that does a great job building suspense and then shifting gears in the final act. Just go in with as little knowledge of the movie as humanly possible.
7/10
No comments:
Post a Comment