This movie came out pretty much at the lowest point in Stallone's career. In fact I think this may have been his first DTV movie. This was what kicked off what many thought to be the end of his career, until he pulled out all his old characters and started releasing kick ass movies again.
Eye See You isn't that bad, but it's pretty generic and bland. It does give Stallone something different in that this isn't an action movie, but is actually closer to being a horror movie. I guess I would call it a thriller. Well really I would call familiar. It's a bunch of people trapped in one location (by yes, a snowstorm) and someone is killing them off one by one. We've seen it before, but as tired as the formula is, it can still be done well.
Here it's not really done that well. It's never that suspenseful and tends to drag at times. A movie like this should have you constantly guessing who the killer is or who will be the next to go. For this one I didn't even really care enough to get that invested, although I did guess the killer right actually. There's the usual scenes where everyone accuses each other of being the killer and so on and so on. Nothing new here.
I was surprised by the cast however. There are a lot of recognizable actors in this thing. Aside from Stallone, you got Jeffrey Wright, Tom Berenger, Robert Patrick, Kris Kristofferson, Dina Meyer, etc. It's actually pretty impressive. It's odd they all agreed to do this movie though since none of their characters really gets to shine. I did like Patrick's badass character who turns into a whimpering mess when the killer catches up to him. That was pretty cool and actually gave his character sort of some depth. Other than that though nobody really gets a whole lot to do, although they are all good with what little they have.
Eye See You is ok, but it's not hard to see why it didn't get a theatrical release. It's pretty generic, although it's kind of cool to see Stallone in this kind of movie. Plus the idea that the killer murders his victims by drilling out their eye when they look through a peephole is certainly pretty fucked up. Overall though, meh.
5/10
No comments:
Post a Comment