Apparently the director originally wanted this movie to have no dialogue whatsoever but was not allowed to do so. You can actually kind of tell that was the plan because even now, nobody really talks in this thing. There are long stretches of silence. Granted some of the performances would have been better if the actors just weren't allowed to talk, it doesn't make for that exciting of an action movie.
One thing I found interesting about this movie is how much time JC spends either running away from people or getting the shit kicked out of him. Sure he has a few fights here and there where to gets to kick an ass or two. However much of his time is spent losing fights or avoiding them altogether. It didn't really make the movie any better, but it was something different. It's even a little strange that JC would choose this movie as one of his first starring vehicles (if not his actual first, not quite sure about that) when it doesn't do a terrific job of showcasing his abilities.
The whole movie is just very...whatever. I won't lie I actually ended up fast-forwarding through huge chunks of it because I really just didn't give a shit about anything that was happening. Blah.
4/10
No comments:
Post a Comment