Monday, April 20, 2009

Knocked Up

I'm not exactly sure what made me all of a sudden want to watch all of these movies from the summer of '07 but here we are. During my time at the theatre I must have seen this movie at least 18 times. Only two of those were viewings from start to finish, but during breaks we would watch it, or just spend part of our shift in there watching it, so if you add up all those little segments, I saw this movie many times.

Since buying the DVD I hadn't really revisited the movie but we wanted to watch something funny last week and this one seemed like the perfect choice. It's not really surprising but it still holds up. Parts aren't nearly as funny as maybe they once were, but there's no denying this is one of those comedies that can hold up to many repeat viewings.

It's a little strange to go back and see Seth Rogen back before he was a huge deal. Now he has like 5 or 6 movies a year but back then nobody really knew who the hell he was. And this was just two years ago too, not even. It's no surprise that this movie helped launch him because the man knows funny, what can I say. I'm also not sick of him yet either, which is pretty fantastic. He may want to slow his movie output a little but for now, I will watch pretty much anything the man does.

Katherine Heigl is good in the lead female role but it's been tainted by some of the comments she has made since the movie was released. She slammed the movie for being sexist, as well as other negative comments. For fucks sake Katherine Heigl. This movie helped bring you into the world of films, was universally loved and brought you to a whole new audience. Maybe..MAYBE..you should be thankful for that. Otherwise you would still be on Grey's pining over (and now apparently talking to? I stopped watching a long time ago) your dead boyfriend who I don't get why you're so upset over anyway? You knew him for like a week Katherine Heigl! And you talked to him at his bed a few times! That's not everlasting love! God damn you. 

The supporting cast is still the highlight. I'm sure this movie also really helped out Jason Segal who has made 2 hilarious movies since this one came out. Apparently Jay Baruchel is finally going to get his own movie too. Although what the hell happened to Jonah Hill? He had Superbad after this, then a small role here and there, and that's it. Weird. 

My biggest complaint about the movie is the length. It's simply too damn long. This is even more true now that the special edition DVD added like 20 minutes of footage to it. It never gets boring, but it does tend to drag and by the 2 hour mark, we were definitely ready for the movie to finally end.

Overall Knocked Up is still funny now and I'm sure will stilly be funny when I watch it again down the road. Comedies like that are getting rarer and rarer so we should be thankful whenever we're lucky enough to get one.

8/10

No comments:

Post a Comment