Sunday, January 4, 2009

Boogeyman 3

Fitting that the first official review from my '08 blog was for the second Boogeyman. I was blown away that a second one existed but a third? Could this be the most unneccesary trilogy of all time? The weird thing is, each one is actually better than the last. Granted the first one was a pile of garbage so it wasn't hard to improve on that. The second one was a decent watch with a huge shift in story and more of an emphasis on gore.

Now the third one is a weird hybrid of the first and second movies. It brings back the supernatural elements of the first one, while keeping the gore emphasis and the basic "students getting killed off one by one" mentality. It's a pretty fitting choice really. It's really the only logical step this "franchise" could have taken.

The storyline is meh and very reminiscent of the other movies. At least it does make somewhat of an effort to tie the stories into the other ones though. It's interesting enough, and does contain a lot more effort than usually goes into these things. My big problem was the ending. It suffers from Lord of the Rings sydrome in that this movie ends like 3 times before the actual credits roll. Had it ended with the first fake out ending, it would have been kind of awesome. But it doesn't sadly.

The gore is also pretty decent. Not quite as insane as the second movie, but it's there. There are a couple of creepy moments and the design on the boogeyman creature itself is ok but you never get a great look at it. Overall, decent. If each movie improves just a little bit over the last one, by Boogeyman 7 we're going to be in fucking business.

6/10 (yea the ratings are out of 10 now, deal!)

No comments:

Post a Comment