Sunday, January 18, 2009

Bride Wars

I had literally zero interest in this one. Zero. In fact this was one of my biggest examples of how happy I was that I didn't have to see every movie in 2009. But it turned out not to matter because I ended up seeing it anyway. I watched it half because I was curious to see if the ending I predicted would turn out to be true, and half because after The Unborn my girlfriend wanted to watch something lighter as a change of pace. 

This may be another one of those movies like Twilight and Mamma Mia that I'm simply not supposed to get. I don't think so though. I think this is just a bad movie. It's not completely unwatchable and I'm sure it won't make the bottom 10 of the year, but it's bad. It's not at all funny and manages to play it safe in just about every regard. Had this movie had the balls to step up and be a somewhat dark comedy, it would have been so much better. Instead it's just a fluff ball piece of crap.

The problem, aside from almost never being funny, is the plot and characters. There is almost no likable person in this thing. The whole message of the movie seems to be that no wedding is worth having unless it's huge and extravagant. Even if you're marrying the person you love, doesn't fucking matter. Maybe not quite that far, but there are definitely tones of this idea all over the movie. 

Kate Hudson had better watch out because sooner or later Hollywood is going to figure out that she hasn't made a good movie since her first role ever in Almost Famous. I mean her last three were Bride Wars, My Best Friend's Girl and Fool's Gold. That should be enough to sink a career but here we are. Bride Wars is raking in cash though so that definitely won't be putting a stop to her anytime soon. As for Anne Hathaway, well I like her and I think she deserves way better than this.

I can't support this movie at all. The humour falls flat, the characters aren't likable and it just plays it all waaaaay too fucking safe. Skip it.

3.5/10

1 comment:

  1. I can't believe you did it man! good job!! (On the 2008 movie list) honestly, I still feel guilty from leaving in what, last February? I read one of the old posts and was hit with so much nostalgia! haha, I miss your sense of humour! Anyway, I can't believe you saw this movie. please tell me you saw it for free.
    -Jenn

    ReplyDelete