Saturday, February 7, 2009

Friday the 13th Part 3 3-D

I've wanted to see this movie in 3-D for over a decade now! I was so excited when I found out they were finally releasing a DVD for this in 3-D, then I just started running and ended up crossing 4 provinces before I passed out. That's how excited I was.

I've always liked this movie, but watching a 3-D movie in 2-D makes it very stupid. So many moments of people shoving shit in the camera for no reason and terrible looking effects. The movies are already pretty silly but man this made it so much worse. Hence my excitement for the 3-D version. Plus my brother has been hyping it for about 15 years so it had a lot of expectations to live up to. My final thoughts....meh.

The problem comes down to setup. We have a 27 inch TV which is sort of like the tease for how good this movie could look. On maybe a 42", this thing would be fantastic! Some of the effects still worked really well, but coming off the fantastic 3-D in My Bloody Valentine, it wasn't nearly up to par. It was about the same level of quality as Journey to the Centre of the Earth was on DVD. It does make those 2-D moments seem a lot less ridiculous though.

So right now, I can't give the 3-D a great score, but I think I will be able to once I watch it on a bigger TV. If someone has a bigger TV and would like to invite me over to watch this movie and eat cupcakes, well you let me know. The movie is still fun though, so we're going to need two seperate scores here me thinks.

Movie = 8/10 (I'm biased towards Friday movies remember?)

3-D = 5/10

1 comment:

  1. I just might happen to have a 42" flat screen LCD TV. With surround sound.

    Oh, and fresh pastries out of the oven...

    ReplyDelete