It's always cool to see an 80's movie that isn't just seeped in the decade. There's no over the top ridiculous clothes or catch phrases or anything. We do get some of that cheesy 80's pop rock, but at least it's usually set to a montage which makes it ok. This movie really doesn't get bogged down in all the 80's movies trap though, which gives it much more of a timeless quality. It's a legitimately good movie, not just a piece of early 80's cheese.
Everyone knows the story of this movie, but it's done really well. It's all about the new kid who gets picked on so he gets trained by his building's handyman who also happens to be a karate expert (lucky little bastard, my handyman is just a drunk) and then he gets to go back and kick the shit out of all the bullies. It's pure classic in terms of story line, but it's executed well and you can't help but get caught up in everything.
I've said this before, but it's hard to find a really good villains in movies. You really don't see much of them anymore. Can you even think of any recent movies where you just wanted the bad guys to be beaten to death with a cushion, (you know, so it would take a long time)? I can only think of two, Gran Torino and Changeling, so thanks Clint Eastwood!
My point here is this movie has some really good villains. It makes you physically angry when you watch the movie because you just despise them so much. It seems like nothing that happens to them is a good enough punishment. Getting beaten in the final tournament is not nearly good enough. Maybe if Daniel-San had won the tournament by stomping on their testicles for 4 straight hours...no, you know what, not good enough. A dinosaur stomping on their testicles, that would maybe be alright.
I really liked this movie and can immediately see why it's considered a classic. It's nice to see a movie from back then that still holds up and could easily work as a modern movie. We even have a remake to look forward to, and by look forward to I mean dread and be confused by. The casting choices alone make me want to weep. Jackie Chan as Mr. Miyagi? How long did that take to come up with?
"We need an asian actor."
"Jackie Chan?"
"Yep, I think he's the only one there is."
And as the Karate Kid we get that annoying little bastard from The Day The Earth Stood Still remake, aka Will Smith's son aka....Jaden? I can already picture how he will play the character and well folks, I don't like what I see. It will be the exact opposite effect and you will be preying that somehow he loses the tournament, the girl and for good measure, his legs so there can't be a sequel.
This one is really good though so please watch it instead of the remake.
8/10
No comments:
Post a Comment