Even though I'm already in the middle of about 19 other franchises, I decided to start watching the classic Godzilla movies too. The only one I'm really familiar with is the version they did here in the US. I loved that movie as a kid, but not so much now. I was curious to see where the character came from and just why everybody hated that version so much.
This is the American version of the original movie. By that I mean they took a lot of the footage of the Japanese movie, and inserted an American actor into it, Raymond Burr. It actually makes the whole thing really ridiculous since his character essentially narrates the entire movie for us. I guess that was so the audience didn't have to read any subtitles. His character never once seems like he belongs, no matter how hard the movie attempts to incorporate him into everything that's going on. If anything it makes me really curious to see the original version, which is the one I hope to watch next.
Godzilla himself doesn't show up until over the halfway point of the movie, although we do catch glimpses of him up until the point. When he does show, he gets right to work fucking up all sorts of shit. This part of the movie is awesome. There's something so great about watching a guy in a rubber suit destroy what are in many cases, toys. There is one part where he knocks over a fire truck and when it cuts to the close-up it's so clearly just a little toy. It should be stupid, but its just fucking spectacular.
It was neat to see the original Godzilla, back before the entire series went nuts and he just started fighting other creatures and having a son. Frankly though I can't wait to watch those movies. This one was more of an actual movie. Godzilla is the bad guy and all he wants is to step on trains and roar his awesome roar. I look forward to seeing where the series goes from here. This one was pretty good, although the Raymond Burr aspect was pretty stupid, and Godzilla himself takes way too long to show up.
6.5/10, almost purely for the final half of the movie
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment