Friday, February 13, 2009

Pink Panther 2

There is no way other way to say it folks...Steve Martin hates comedy. He didn't use to. The man used to be able to crank out all kinds of funny. Maybe he just forgot how? No paycheck in the world is big enough to make a man unleash this garbage on the world so I won't accept money as the reason.

Pink Panther 2 is where comedy comes to not only die, but most likely get raped first too. Pink Panther 2 rapes and murders comedy. You can slap that quote right on the poster. It might actually make people go and see it. Actually we really don't want that to happen because nobody should have to suffer through this. If I heard mass murderers were being forced to watch this movie I would immediatly be outraged at this cruel treatment.

The movie does not have a single worthwhile second in it. Ok there is actually one sort of funny line but it's in the last 5 minutes of the movie. You have to suffer through 98% of the movie before you get an almost decent line. The rest is so bad you almost can't believe you're seeing it. It's incredible. It's like some horrible illusion that won't go away.

I have nothing against slapstick humour. A good person falling down joke if done right can be comedic gold. This one has about 1000 fall down jokes, not one of them well done. They are all so forced and awkward. I seriously can't believe that anyone working on this movie at any point could have believed they were making something funny.

The amount of talent this movie attracted is almost sickening. Steve Martin doesn't really count anymore but Alfred Molina, Andy Gracia, Jeremy Irons. And Jean Reno what are you doing back?! You were the Professional man!

This is easily the worst movie I have seen this year so far. Even worse than Bride Wars which I never saw coming. At least this movie isn't doing well so at least we should be spared a Pink Panther 3. As for Steve Martin, I don't know what happened there. Unless maybe Hollywood has switched out the real Steve for some sort of humourless mutant. If that is the case then at some point he's going to have to mate like in Species and at that point....I think we're all in big trouble.

2.5/10 (that one line was pretty funny)

No comments:

Post a Comment