Yes that's right, the Grudge is now a trilogy. A movie that boils down to nothing more than 2 creepy ghosts moving around all jerky, has taken 3 movies to tell its story. It can now join the ranks of other baffling trilogies such as the Pulse movies, the Anaconda movies, and the Boogeyman movies.
The first Grudge I remember being alright in theatres but really loses something on DVD. The second movie I didn't watch for a while until an evening where my choices were either that or sitting still and not doing anything. To this day I regret that choice. The Grudge 3 was watched out of nothing but curiousity and the best compliment I can give it is that well, it's competant.
It's definitely better than Grudge 2, but few things aren't. I saw some street signs this morning that were more entertaining than Grudge 2. Basically so long as this movie didn't make me want to eat the TV, than it was the better movie. And my TV is still there, so it must have been at least ok.
The story is really the same thing we keep seeing movie after movie. Creepy long hair girl pops out of things and usually crawls towards people, and really pale kid looks through peepholes and banister railings at them. That's really it. Even the opening of the movie tells the EXACT same story about people dying in a curse and rage and whatever.
I pretty much hate anything that moves around jerky. Seriously if you walk towards me and move jerky, I will cry for hours. So the girl still kind of freaks me out though. The kid, not so much. Why is he still meowing? I get that the character was drowned along with a cat but...why is he still meowing? Didn't the filmmakers realize that's not scary, it's fucking hilarious. In real life I would burst out laughing, smack the kid, and tell him to stop acting stupid. You might as well just have him make the sound of a lion or a cuckoo clock..actually the second one might be pretty terrifying.
There is more gore in this movie than in either of the two previous Grudge movies, which was a bit strange. This one seems to be going for shock value since it probably knows nobody really cares about creepy bitch and pale kid anymore. There's a brief bit of nudity but I'm pretty sure the girl in the scene was no older than 14. So instead of some campy, fun nudity, you get creepy, pedophile nudity that makes you feel terrible for even seeing it. Thanks Grudge 3!
Like I said, this movie is competently made and a step above the usual direct to DVD stuff. It's not really scary, but I'll say this, the ending actually kind of kicked ass. Check it out if you LOVE the Grudge movies, or are looking to kill 90 minutes with something slightly above average.
5.5/10
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment