Saturday, February 21, 2009

Lethal Weapon 3

As fun as it was watching these movies one after another, I'm getting pretty damn tired of talking about them here. Thankfully I have taken a break between the 3rd and 4th installments so I can go a little while without talking Lethal Weapon.

Basically everything I have said about this series up until this point still applies. I would have to say though that this is the weakest Lethal Weapon. We'll see if that still applies when I watch 4 again, but right now I would put this one at the bottom of the pile. That makes it sound like it's a bad movie and it really isn't. In fact it's a good one, just not as good as the last two were.

You can pretty much just down a checklist now of the series and everything it contains.

[x] Some solid action sequences
[x] Some awesome moments where Mel Gibson acts all fucked up
[x] Some surprisingly well developed villains (although not as much in this one sadly)
[x] Some points where you want to punch Joe Pesci
[x] Some good chemistry between all of the cast (there is a lot of it, I just needed to keep the 'some' thing going)

By this point there was a steady formula to these movies. Glover is too old for this shit, Gibson likes the Three Stooges, etc. We've seen it before, but it hasn't gotten stale. The main reason it probably feels stale to begin with is because I watched all of these movies in like a day. Originally they were spaced years apart so I'm sure that made a huge difference.

Lethal Weapon 3 is another solid movie, but the weakest of the bunch.

7/10

No comments:

Post a Comment