The Underworld series has never really been for me. Aside from the undeniable appeal of Kate Beckinsale in a tight leather outfit, I haven't gotten a whole lot out of the series. The idea of a prequel was nothing to get excited about and after watching it, well my opinion hasn't really changed either.
Rhona Mitra takes over as the lead girl in this one, although she is made up to look as much like Beckinsale as possible. After this and Doomsday, Mitra better be careful because she is going to just become the next Milla Jovovich and play the exact same role over and over again. She does fine in the role, but we've seen her do the same thing before. Bill Nighy is quite good as the villian, and it's weird to see Martin Sheen go from David Frost to werewolf, but the man can act so it's ok.
I'll admit I struggled to keep giving this movie my attention. It wasn't easy. The movie was doing very little to hold my focus and I found myself just staring at a glass of milk for minutes on end. It had just as much of a story to tell me though.
There really didn't seem to be a whole lot going on in this movie. We know the Lycans are going to rise, it's just watching it happen which isn't all that interested. There are some effective scenes here and there and the action is done well enough, but none of it was engaging enough to take this movie above levels of mediocrity.
The movie definitely looks great, something that can be said of all the Underworld movies. Everything has this blue overtone and the costumes, sets, and cinematography are all nice to look at. It's just too bad more interesting things couldn't be happening with all of those things.
It's not a bad movie, it's just average. I wouldn't call it boring, but at the same time I was never invested in anything that was going on. I just don't think Underworld has a whole lot more story to tell and this movie kind of proves it. At least we get another bizarre trilogy. Thanks 2009!
5/10
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment