Saturday, February 28, 2009

Push

The first time I saw the trailer for Push it just reminded me of last year's Jumper. Both are essentially 'original' origin stories for superheroes. They both contain pretty well known actors, but nobody that makes you go "holy shit it's so and so!" They both have one word very generic titles. And the most intense reaction you can muster up after watching the trailer for each movie is "eh." I will say that Push is the better movie over Jumper, but it's still pretty eh.

One problem with Push is one that Jumper suffered from as well. The whole thing feels less like a story and more like a set-up. It seems like the writers intend this to be nothing more than an origin story with the real meat of the story coming later. As with Jumper, this movie probably didn't do well enough to justify a sequel so I'm guessing we'll never actually see where this story was going to go. So I guess we're forever going to be stuck with only this part of the story, which is only kind of interesting. 

At least the acting is a huge step up from Jumper. It's not really that hard to do considering the star of Jumper was Hayden Christensen, who I don't think has done a movie since so maybe, MAYBE, Hollywood has finally figured out he has no talent. Chris Evans is still a little bland in the lead role, but he's definitely a step-up. It's still a little weird to see a Dakota Fanning who is starting to grow up, but there's no denying she can act and she does well. She may actually be one of those child actors who manages to keep working after they get older. She can now join the ranks of.....Elijah Wood. I guess that's it. Djimon Honsou plays the villain and actually doesn't get a whole lot to do here. He's a good actor though and does well in the role. Then we have Camilla Belle, whose hot.

The story is kind of like the show Heroes, only........well no it's just like the show Heroes. I haven't watched Heroes in a while but it's a safe bet that at least Push is not as fucking goofy as that show was getting. There are some pretty huge plot holes in this thing. One in particular has people all over the Internet struggling to explain it. I think it just didn't make sense. It's not a boring movie though, just not particularly engaging. 

The action scenes are surprisingly few and far between. When you do get one it's never that exciting. I will say that Jumper probably did a better job with its action sequences. Push does have a gun fight using telekenetic powers to move all of the guns, I just can't decide if it's the coolest thing I've ever seen, or the fucking stupidest. 

Overall Push is very ok. The plot is kind of generic and silly, the action scenes are underwhelming, and the performances are satisfactory. It sounds like I hated the movie but I didn't. It was just average, though as a whole it was better than Jumper. It is a little too bad that we most likely will never see a sequel to this because I wouldn't mind seeing where this story line went, especially because the ending to this movie sort of kicks lots of ass.

6/10

No comments:

Post a Comment