Monday, March 30, 2009

Dead in 3 Days

The "Dimension Extreme" label often doesn't live up to its own name. A few movies that have been released under the company qualify. I would say Teeth for sure. A vagina that eats penises is definitely pretty fucking extreme. Inside is under the label as well, and we all remember my thoughts on that horrifying thing. Dead in 3 Days however....there is very little 'extreme' about this title except maybe what an "extreme" rip-off it is of I know What You Did Last Summer.

IKWYDLS (fuck even the acronym takes forever to type out) isn't the first movie that leaps to mind when you think of classic horror movies to borrow from. Yet here we are. Dead in 3 Days follows the same basic idea, even down to the outfit the killer wears. It bares an uncanny resemblance to the one from Summer. 

The one key difference is the actual car accident scene. Of course in Summer they hit a guy, which lead to all sorts of shenanigans. In this movie....they hit a deer. It's played just the same as Summer, only a deer instead of an actual human being. They couldn't really be basing the whole plot on this event could they?  Well, no they actually aren't. See after this scene is over, none of the characters ever mention it again. It's the strangest thing. A 5 minute scene near the start of the movie which you think will play a key role, is forgotten almost immediately. Maybe the cameras happened to catch an actual on-set deer slaughter, who knows? Either way it makes no sense.

Another thing that makes very little of the sense is the treatment of a certain character. He is the usual obligatory scapegoat character. The one we are led to believe is actually the killer but we know within seconds that he really isn't. One of the characters goes out of her way to accuse him, constantly reminding us "god he's so creepy", "he's such a creep", "he gives me the creeps", fucking etc. We never find out why the hell she is so hostile towards him. We wait for the explanation, but we never ever get it. Then the character makes this huge heroic gesture for that character, and she again, never talks about it to anyone. So who the fuck was this guy? Why does everyone stop talking about significant events 2 seconds after they happen?

The movie itself is watchable, but painfully average. The deaths are blah, the concept is very familiar, and none of the characters are particularly likable. The reveal of the killer is also very left fieldish and a little dumb. Overall, not very extreme.

5.5/10   - just above average

No comments:

Post a Comment