Why in the hell is an alternate name for this movie Gigantis the Fire Monster? It's clearly Godzilla. He looks the same and acts the same. They fucked up his roar but you can still it's him. Weird.
So after essentially watching the same Godzilla movie twice I was more than ready to move on to the sequel. I wanted to see where the storyline went after the surprisingly good first entry in the series. Turns out they really didn't take the story very far.
The movie is kind of a weird hybrid of the two different versions of the first Godzilla. It doesn't have the American actor randomly inserted into the story to explain all of the events to us. It just has the Japanese actors do it. More accurately, somehow does a voiceover over all of the regular footage from the movie. Anytime a character isn't speaking, there is a voiceover (talking really quickly, I guess to talk about everything that is going on) detailing every single action taking place on screen. The worst part is that he is not needed at all! It's not hard to figure out what we're looking at and the voiceover feeds us stupid and pointless information such as:
"I saw my friend and waved back". We don't need a voiceover explaining that! Clearly he is looking at his friend and waving! That's probably the worst example but it goes on for most of the movie. It's definitely more irritating than helpful.
Godzilla himself is more or less the same, only like I mentioned they fucked up his roar. They made it way more annoying, and for some reason, that led to him roaring more. You may want to mute this sum bitch whenever ole Zilla is around. He does fight another monster in this one, which is the first of many times he has done that. The fight is ok, but the other monster really doesn't have much of a personality given to him.
There is one amazing shot near the end of the movie where a helicopter pilot yells that he has spotted Godzilla. We cut down to the ground where there is Godzilla, standing completely still and not moving at all. I think he is even in mid-step. It's clearly a toy on a set, but that doesn't stop them from using the exact same shot at least 2 more times. It's definitely the highlight of the movie.
I'm still looking forward to when the Godzilla movies start to get more and more ridiculous. They seem to already be getting there, but not quite to the point I want them to be at. In the meantime, this wasn't a very good movie, with the toy shot being the definite highlight. God damn that annoying roar!
5/10
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment