Friday, March 27, 2009

Mystery Science Theatre 3000 - The Wild World of Batwoman

I've never heard of this movie before, nor have I heard of the character of Batwoman. I know of BatGirl, but no woman. I wasn't even entirely sure if this movie was connected to the Batman universe. It turns out....maybe?

From what I gather this movie doesn't make a lick of god damn sense. Although Batwoman appears to be wearing something resembling the bat symbol, she looks nothing like you would think a Batman world character should look like. She looks like Liza Minneli. It's fucking insane to look at. She also has all these other females that she sort of is the boss of. All of them apparently fight crime too, but all they really seem to do is dance.

Yes that's right, this movie contains more dancing than any other movie I've ever seen. It's not even a musical. The dancing fits nowhere into the context of anything. It just sort of happens. The characters will dance for minutes on end with no advancement to the story. One of the girls is even taken prisoner and can be seen dancing in the background of one of the scenes for like 5 minutes. There's not even any music playing. None of the other characters acknowledge that it's happening either. She just dances in her cell for a while. Wow.

The movie is kind of funny in that it's so bad way, but mostly it's just really boring. Even the Mystery Science people seem to be having trouble making fun of it at times. There is one fantastic scene where they are having a seance to talk to some spirit, I don't know whose. At random the spirit goes from talking really fucking slow english, to really stereotypical, racist chinese. It's obviously not the real language, just sounds. It's not played for laughs at all but FUCK is it ever funny. The MST guys don't even really make fun of it, it just makes fun of itself.

As a movie this thing is terrible and deserves it's place among the bottom 100 on IMDB. As a MST3K episode however, it's comedic gold.

8/10

No comments:

Post a Comment