Again I knew absolutely nothing about this movie when it arrived in the mail. Sometimes that can be fun though, going into a movie completely blind with no idea what you're going to get from it. When I loaded up the DVD the first thing I saw on the menu screen was a group of people fighting a giant crab. So I knew I was in for at least one really entertaining scene.
The movie itself is again alright. It kind of makes me wish that I could live in that decade and experience these movies when they were first released. I bet they blew people's fucking minds back then. I also can't help but wonder if these scripts already existed and Ray Harryhausen was asked to do the effects for them, or if they wrote scripts around seeing what sorts of cool shit Ray was capable of. Maybe there was a script only Ray saw it and said "Are you fucking kidding me? Why is nobody fighting a giant crab?!" And the rest is history.
Too much of this movie is spent following our main characters as they wander around this mysterious island. The highlights are of course whenever they stumble upon, and subsequently fight a giant creature of some sort. The huge crab is the first, and they react to it's existence just a little too calmly for my liking. The sequence itself is awesome though, but then afterwards it starts to look like maybe that will be the only huge monster fight.
BUT THEN WAIT! A BIG FUCKING WEIRD OSTRICH PURPLE BIRD THING SHOWS UP!!! Aw it's gone, well maybe that's it then. HOLY SHIT LOOK AT ALL THOSE GIANT BEES! And after the bees that really is all of them. I didn't like the bees actually. Not because they weren't kick ass looking. I just hate bees and when you make them that huge, not pleasant for me.
As fun as these fight scenes are to watch, they make up a small portion of the movie. Eventually I'm going to stumble upon one of these things that is nothing but fighting creatures from start to finish. This one is pretty good though, even with the stretches where I wasn't that interested in what was happening.
6.5/10
AND I AM NOW OFFICIALLY CAUGHT UP ON THIS FUCKING THING! AND WITH ONLY A FEW HOURS LEFT IN THE MONTH! WOOOOOOO! now if only I had some readers... :(
No comments:
Post a Comment