By this point it's starting to look like maybe people have figured it out. Boll usually gets a pretty big theatrical release with his movies, and they usually feature a surprisingly large amount of well-known, or at least recognizable actors. Not so much with Far Cry. As far as I can tell this will be receiving any sort of theatrical release here in North America (apparently it played at one theatre), and there hasn't even been an announcement for the DVD/Blu-ray yet. It has been released in Germany though, so we're still lucky enough to be able to get a copy of it. The movie also features no big names, with only a couple of recognizable faces present here. Hollywood seems to be learning.
The movie begins and for about 5 minutes, you start to wonder if you accidently put in a copy of some new direct-to-DVD Predator sequel. It wasn't until the actual title came up that I was sure I was watching the right movie. This sequence sets up what will be the running disappointment of the entire movie...it's just too generic.
The entire movie suffers from a sort of "been there, done that" vibe. There is nothing here that you haven't seen done before, and done better at that. It makes the entire thing rather dull and pointless. The action scenes are reasonably well shot, they just aren't very exciting. The same thing goes for the plot itself. It's all very reminiscent of a Steven Seagal or a Van Damme movie you might see these days. Nothing about it draws you in and you're never invested in anything that's going on.
Another big problem I have is with the casting and the characters. The supporting roles whatever, they're fine I guess. Acting is pretty bad but at least they get the job done. My biggest problem with the lead character of Jack Carver. The thick german accent right away does not fit the character. I could maybe deal with that though if just the entire character didn't feel wrong. Can I say who Jack Carver should have been played by? Not exactly, but I still know this was not the right choice. Plus the guy was pretty whiny and insecure. He spends most of the movie pestering the lead female about whether or not he was good in bed. So badass. I'm sure it's supposed to be funny but well, it really isn't.
Speaking of which, not for anything even close to a second did I buy into the relationship between the two leads. They fall for each other within 10-15 minutes and he basically tricks her into having sex with him. It's a completely useless subplot that mostly just bothered the crap out of me.
However it didn't bother me nearly as much as the supposed "comic relief" the movie offers us at around the halfway point. How anyone could have thought this guy was funny is beyond me? He gets so much to say too! It's terrible. It's not the worst comic relief I've ever seen (not sure what that would be, College is right up there, and Jar Jar Binks of course) but my god is it ever brutal. The fact that this guy gets to survive the movie is a sin.
This may actually be the best movie Boll has done to date. It's a very, very slight improvement over the others, but it's something. The movie is still very bad though. I can only give it this score because it's not as bad as it maybe could have been.
3.5/10
OPINION POLL: IF YOU HAD TO PICK ONE, WHAT WOULD YOU SAY IS YOUR FAVOURITE UWE BOLL MOVIE?
No comments:
Post a Comment