Tuesday, March 31, 2009

The Running Man

80's Arnold is pretty fantastic. In fact let's change to 80's to early 90's Arnold. Sure some of the later stuff like 6th Day wasn't bad, and Eraser is pretty awesome,  but this was the golden era. Terminator, Commando, and course The Running Man. I hadn't seen this one in a while but it's just as fun as I remember.

I have read the novella this movie is loosely based on, but I don't remember a whole lot about it either. I do know that this movie takes a lot of liberties with the book. I doubt the book had Arnold's character sawing people in half and then saying they "had to split."

I think that's a huge reason for the golden era, the one-liners. Arnold is the king of these things. Everyone knows at least a few of them, even if they've never seen any of his movies before. Running Man has almost as many good ones as Commando, but I don't think anything will ever top that movie.

Having watched 1000 hours of the Game Show Network over the last year and a half, it was also cool to see Richard Dawson as the villain. Who would have thought the host of the Family Feud would prove to be a worthy opponent for Arnold.

This movie does take a lot longer to get to the actual game than I remember but who cares? It's all fun and a great classic 80's Arnold action movie.

8/10

No comments:

Post a Comment