Friday, March 6, 2009

Mystery Science Theater 3000 - The Brain That Wouldn't Die

ATTENTION! - Starting with this review I've decided to start incorporating some reader interaction with these reviews. Part of it is to bring the reader into things and add some fun for them, and part of it is because I want to prove to myself that there are actually people reading these things. At the end of every review I'm going to post an opinion based question that everyone can answer/discuss in the comments section of that particular post. Enjoy!

You know those shows that even though you don't always find them funny, they are just so damn likable that you can't help but enjoy watching them? I think Mystery Science Theater is going to become one of those shows for me. This episode was definitely a dip in quality after the last one I watched, but it's still funny and damn it, no matter what I just have fun watching it.

I had trouble finding a lot to say about the first episode of this show I reviewed, let alone finding enough to say about another episode. The show follows the same formula only now the lead character has been replaced. Apparently there is a lot of differing opinions between fans and lots of people don't like when they switched over to this character. Since I've now seen one episode with each person, I really have no preference. The other episode was better, so maybe I can base it off of that?

The movie itself is as expected pretty terrible. However it doesn't reach the same depths of shit that Manos did, and that ends up hurting the episode itself. It really does lend some credit to my idea that this show will live or die on how awful the movie they are watching is. This one has large stretches where there just doesn't seem to be enough to make fun of and some of the comments come off as a little desperate. There are definitely some great laughs here though and probably even a few jokes I missed. That means that even some of the weaker episodes of the show may have replay value to them.

I still look forward to watching more episodes of this show, but my reviews of them are going to get shorter and shorter. I maybe shouldn't even count them as something that needs to be reviewed, but since I'm technically watching a full movie I just feel like I should be saying something. Either way, pretty funny stuff, but weaker than the first episode of the show I watched.

6/10

OPINION POLL: WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE TERRIBLE MOVIE TO MAKE FUN OF WITH YOUR FRIENDS?!

1 comment:

  1. My friends never watch films with me. It usually has to be a bad comedy or bad horror film for me to enjoy the badness. Otherwise it's just a worthless film.

    ReplyDelete