Friday, March 6, 2009

Karate Kid Part 3

It took a little while but I finally got back to my Karate Kid movies. I wasn't that impressed with part 2, and I had heard that Part 3 was an even further dip in quality, so there wasn't really a huge rush to continue on with the series. It turns out though that Part 3, while not terrific, is a pretty decent watch and I think I may have liked it even just a tiny bit more than Part 2. This might just be because Part 3 is a lot more fucking ridiculous, but hey whatever works.

There is one thing I feel should be addressed right out of the gate. Daniel Larusso, the main character in all of the Karate Kid movies, is really fucking annoying. REALLY fucking annoying.  I always sort of though so, but it really shined through in this movie. You just want to shake him or slap him or really just anything that will get him to shut the fuck up for 2 god damn seconds! He never stops talking and whenever he is talking, 10% of what he is saying is important. He kind of reminds me of Rocky, only if you wanted to stab Rocky every single time he opened up his mouth. 

Annoying lead character aside, my favourite part of this installment was the villains. The Karate Kid movies have always been really good at creating bad guys that you just can't stand. This movie takes things a step further and gives you 3 main villains, each one you hope gets stomped on by a elephant, after the elephant rapes them for several straight hours. At the same time they are so cartoony and over the top that it's almost funny. It's a little too bad these villains don't play a central role in the plot until around the halfway point of the movie, if not even a little bit further along than that even. What's the rest of the movie focused on? Well, plants mostly.

Yes the central plot of the movie centers around our two main characters buying up a run down store front in order to start a business where they deal with banzai trees. This is a surprisingly large part of the movie. It kind of makes one wonder why they bothered to make another movie. There is this one sequence where for about 15 minutes they just scale down a cliff to get this rare plant. Huh. At least Teen Witch is in this movie, which is pretty awesome.

It's too bad more of the movie didn't focus on the villain side of things. They seem to often take a backseat to the plants. It's a pretty ridiculous movie, but it's pretty entertaining at the same time. 

6/10

No comments:

Post a Comment